Archive for April 1st, 2008

01
Apr
08

Flames’ Fans Beat Oiler Fan Unconscious

So I just had to go drive my buddy around because he managed to lock his keys in his car. And while I was cabbing him around he told me about this guy, an Oiler fan, who got “gangbeated” [his words, not mine], following the Oil’s 2-1 win ovr Calgary on the weekend.

So I figured I would come home and look it up and sure enough, it happened. 

caltop.jpg

Apparently this guy was walking, in his Oiler jersey, back to a friends’ house late at night, when this Mercedes  full of Flames’ fans, in their Flames jerseys, pulled up staring at him.

The guy said to them, “How ’bout them Flames?”

Now, he did provoke them, but hell, how many times does someone hear words like that? As a Leaf fan… I hear it a lot! But I have never thought about beating the bloody hell out of the people that say it to me, let alone get a bunch of pals in on it…. granted I don’t have many fellow Leaf fans in Southern Alberta… but come on!

So this guy, is going to press charges… or at least attempt to, as he got the people’s license plate number and he met with the cops. Calgary in my opinion is sketchy… this coming a week after a homeless guy got beat while in his sleep.