Archive for April 22nd, 2008

22
Apr
08

Crazy Hab Fans

First off, let me just say that I have lived in Quebec, and just outside of Montreal. In fact, I was living there in 93 when the Habs last won the cup, and then preceded to riot on St. Catherine’s, breaking into stores and looting, setting fires all over the place, and just being drunken idiots.

Admittedly, I find that there is nothing wrong with going out on the town and celebrating a big Game 7 win, or a series win… but to go out and torch police cars? That’s a little too far. I was just watching the news, and I saw a clip of guys jumping on the cop cars, kicking in the hood, there was even some guy who just walked up to it, kicked the police car, all the while chatting away on his phone. I’m glad he turned and faced the camera too, I hope his parents saw it, and they feel ashamed of him.

Hopefully, the cops find a better way of dealing with the fans post-game then how this was handled… if the Habs make a deep run, and they have a wicked chance of doing so… then I would hate to see Canadien fans trash Montreal, one of the most beautiful and historic cities I’ve ever seen… but I’ve never left North America so that doesn’t say much.